Judge Wolff, Mayor Nirenberg announce their endorsement for VIA chair

Bexar County Judge Nelson Wolff and Mayor Ron Nirenberg on Monday announced they are endorsing community leader and businessman Fernando Reyes to be VIA Metropolitan Transit Board chairman.

The VIA Metropolitan Transit Board of Trustees is comprised of 11 members, of which five members are appointed by the City Council for staggered terms two years in length. While VIA board members select the chair, the county judge and mayor traditionally forward their recommendation to the board.

In a news release, Wolff said Reyes brings a “wealth of experience with him,” noting his ability to work in public and private sectors and adapt to changing climates will “undoubtedly” suit him well as VIA Board chairman.

“His dedication to this community is impressive, and I look forward to seeing great things from him and the board in the months to come,” Wolff said in the news release.

READ ALSO: San Antonio mayor completes precautionary quarantine, warns against testing ‘in’ to Thanksgiving

Nirenberg said Reyes has an “impressive track record” as a businessman and has long demonstrated his commitment to public service.

Reyes is chairman of Reyes Automotive Group II and Reyes AmTex Automotive, which are tier one suppliers for Toyota Motor Manufacturing Texas Inc., and he has been involved in numerous other business ventures, according to the release.

Before entering the private business sector, Reyes worked in the federal government, including stints at the Department of Defense and the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The San Antonio native also has served on the Harlandale Education Foundation, the Bexar County Community Arenas Board, the Texas Lottery Commission and the Texas Workers Compensation Insurance Fund Board.

Hope Andrade is the current VIA Chair. Her term ends Nov. 30.

Priscilla Aguirre is a general assignment reporter for MySA.com | [email protected] | @CillaAguirre